Mayor & Council


  • 7:00 p.m.
  • 1st Monday of every month (unless otherwise posted)
  • City Hall - 2nd Floor in Council Chambers
    310 Ward Street
    Nelson, BC Canada 

View meeting calendar

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


An elected Council comprising a mayor and six Councillors governs the City of Nelson. Councillors are elected for four year terms and each member of Council represents the City at large. The Community Charter and the Local Government Act give Council the authority to set budgets, levy taxes and establish policies to guide the growth, development and operation of the City for the benefit and protections of its citizens. The current City Council was elected November 15, 2014, to govern for the four-year period from December 2014 to the first Monday in November 2018.